#### COUNCIL

Date and Time: Thursday 18 May 2023 at 7.00 pm

Place: Council Chamber

Present:

#### **COUNCILLORS -**

Axam Delaney Oliver Dorn Bailev Quaterman Blewett Engström Radley Butcher Farmer Smith Butler Forster Southern Clarke Hale Thomas Coburn Harward Vernon Cockarill Wildsmith Kennett Worlock Collins Makepeace-Browne

Davies Neighbour

#### Officers Present:

Daryl Philips Chief Executive

Sharon Black Committee and Member Services Manager Emma Evans Committee and member Services Officer

#### 1 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Cllr Worlock before the start of the meeting held a minute's silence in memory of former Councillor, Myra Billings.

Cllr Worlock then began the meeting by giving a summary of her year as Chairman. She thanked Members, officers and staff for their support during her tenure.

Clir's Farmer, Neighbour and Radley congratulated Clir Worlock on her successful year.

Councillor Wildsmith was proposed as Chairman for 2023/24 by Councillor Neighbour and seconded by Councillor Butler.

Voting by a show of hands was not unanimous. A recorded vote was undertaken.

For: Axam; Bailey; Blewett; Butler; Clarke; Cockarill; Collins; Davies; Delaney; Engstrom; Harward; Makepeace-Browne; Neighbour; Oliver; Quarterman; Radley; Smith, Thomas, Vernon (19)

Against: Butcher, Coburn, Dorn, Farmer, Forster, Kennett, Southern (7)

Abstain: Hale, Worlock (2)

#### **DECISION**

That Councillor Wildsmith be elected Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

Cllr Wildsmith proposed a vote of thanks for Cllr Worlock, congratulating her on her work as Chairman during 2022/23 and presenting her with her past Chairman's badge.

#### 2 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN

Councillor Smith was proposed by Councillor Radley and seconded by Councillor Neighbour.

Voting by a show of hands was not unanimous. A recorded vote was undertaken.

For: Axam; Bailey; Blewett; Butler; Clarke; Cockarill; Collins; Davies; Delaney; Engstrom; Hale, Harward; Kennett, Makepeace-Browne; Neighbour; Oliver; Quarterman; Radley; Smith, Thomas, Vernon, Wildsmith, Worlock (23)

Against: Dorn, Southern (2)

Abstain: Butcher, Coburn, Farmer, Forster (4)

#### **DECISION**

That Councillor Smith be elected Vice Chairman of the Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

### 3 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Cllr Radley proposed an amendment to the minutes to reflect the content of the meeting that was missing from the live feed of 27 April 2023. Seconded by Councillor Makepeace-Browne.

Voting by a show of hands was not unanimous. A recorded vote was undertaken.

For: Axam; Blewett; Butler; Clarke; Cockarill; Collins; Davies; Delaney; Dorn, Engstrom; Kennett, Makepeace-Browne; Oliver; Quarterman; Radley (15)

Against: Butcher, Coburn, Farmer, Forster, Hale (5)

Abstain: Bailey, Harward, Neighbour, Smith, Southern, Thomas, Vernon, Wildsmith, Worlock (9)

# **DECISION**

The proposal to amend the minutes to reflect the content of the meeting of 27 April 2023 that was missing from the live feed was agreed.

The Minutes of the meeting of 27 April 2023 were then confirmed and signed as a correct record.

### 4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Councillors Crampton, Crisp, Woods and Wright.

#### 5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations made.

#### 6 CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVES' ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman welcomed all members to the municipal year. He confirmed that he would provide further information on his plans for his year as Chairman at the next Council meeting.

The Chairman referred to a question has been received regarding the use of barbed wire at Fleet Pond. The Chairman asked the Leader of the Council to provide a written response to all members.

#### **CHIEF EXECUTIVES' ANNOUNCEMENTS**

None.

# 7 CONSENT FOR CONTINUATION OF TERM FOR THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Consent was sought for the continuation of Councillor David Neighbour as Leader of the Council for a further three-year term (see article 2, Paragraph 2.6 of the Constitution).

Cllr Radley proposed. Cllr Quarterman seconded.

Voting by a show of hands was not unanimous. A recorded vote was undertaken.

For: Axam; Bailey; Blewett; Butler; Clarke; Cockarill; Collins; Davies; Delaney; Engstrom; Hale, Harward; Kennett, Makepeace-Browne; Neighbour; Oliver; Quarterman; Radley; Smith, Thomas, Vernon, Wildsmith (22)

Against: Dorn, Farmer, Forster, Southern (4)

Abstain: Butcher, Coburn, Worlock (3)

#### **DECISION**

That Councillor neighbour will continue as Leader of the Council for a further tree-year term in accordance with article 2, Paragraph 2.6 of the Constitution.

#### **MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET**

The Leader confirmed membership of Cabinet and their Portfolios:

Councillor Neighbour Leader - Strategic Direction and Partnerships

Councillor Radley Deputy Leader - Finance

Councillor Oliver Community Safety and Development Management

Councillor Cockarill Planning Policy
Councillor Collins Regulatory

Councillor Clarke Digital and Communications

Councillor Bailey Community

Councillor Quarterman Climate Change and Corporate Services

#### 8 MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES

The Chairman asked for nominations for the unallocated place on the Audit Committee.

Councillor Radley proposed Councillor Thomas. Cllr Collins seconded.

Voting by a show of hands was unanimous. Councillor Thomas was confirmed as a member of the Audit Committee.

The nominations for Membership for each Committee, with regards to the rules of political proportionality, were confirmed:

Committee	Seats	Con	Lib Dem	ССН	Ind
Audit	7	Hale Southern	Blewitt Engström	Axam Davies Thomas	
Licensing	11	Coburn Farmer Forster	Crisp Harward Vernon Woods	Collins Clarke Delaney	Smith
O&S	<b>1</b> 1	Butcher Coburn Dorn Farmer	Engström Harward	Butler Davies Vernon Thomas	Smith
Crime & Disorder	3	Butcher	Wildsmith	Butler	
5 Councils	2	Farmer		Smith (Ind)	
Planning	11	Butcher Kennett Southern Worlock	Blewett Cockaril Quaterman Wildsmith	Makepeace-Browne Oliver Radley	
Staffing	9	Crampton Farmer Worlock	Bailey Neighbour Woods	Butler Makepeace-Browne Radley	
Standards		Dorn Kennett	Harward Woods	Makepeace-Browne Oliver	
Appeals		Dorn Kennett	Harward Engström	Makepeace- Radley	Browne

# **DECISION:**

That the membership of the Committees be agreed as above.

# 9 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES

Members of the Committees established under Minute No 8 above elected their Chairmen for the 2023/2024 municipal year.

#### **DECISION**

That the Committee Chairmen be agreed:

CommitteeChairmanAuditAxamLicensingSmith\*PlanningQuarterman

Overview & Scrutiny Dorn

Staffing Makepeace-Browne

# 10 ANNUAL REPORT FROM THE CHAIRMAN OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

The Chairman of the 2022/23 Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Councillor Dorn, presented the Committee's Annual Report and thanked Committee members for their work.

Members noted the work of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee over the last year.

The meeting closed at 8.04 pm

<sup>\*</sup>Council consented to waive Standing Order 28.8 to agree the election of Councillor Smith as Chairman of Licensing Committee.